Whether you follow a vegan diet or not, it's always nice to know what it is you're putting into your body. Before you get tipsy with friends and socialize over that new bottle of wine, check your label and see if it upholds the same considerations for the environment that you do.
While yes, wine is made from grapes, many use animal based ingredients to finish the wine. 'Traditionally the most commonly used fining agents were casein (a milk protein), albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein) and isinglass (fish bladder protein). These fining agents are known as processing aids. They are not additives to the wine, as they are precipitated out along with the haze molecules.' reported The Kitchn. These agents are used to remove sediment. Other animal products used in wine production may include beeswax (used to seal bottles) and agglomerated corks (which use milk-based glues).
‘Vegan wines are made without animal products, so winemakers either leave the particles to sink naturally to the bottom of the wine, or use non-animal fining products usually bentonite, a form of clay or pea protein,’ said Waitrose & Partners wine expert, Matt Johnson.
Thankfully, there are many vegan alternatives to use as fining agents like bentonite and activated charcoal. Check your wine label next time before diving into a new wine brand. Or better yet, I've come up with a list of 6 vegan cruelty free wines to try!
What's your favorite vegan wine brand?
2020 Prismus® Pinot Grigio
Tasting notes of green apple, lemon, lime, wet stone
2020 Rogue Admirals Red Blend
Tasting notes of cranberry, tart cherry, tomato leaf, wet stone
2020 Cherries & Rainbows White Wine
Tasting notes of apricot, baking spice, citrus, green apple
2019 Point de Passage Red Blend
Tasting notes of pomegranate, raspberry, red cherry, spice
2019 Les Bobos Chardonnay
Tasting notes of apple, apricot, lemon rind, white peach
2018 Restless Earth® Grenache
Tasting notes of pomegranate, raspberry, red cherry, white pepper